Meet the SLSA Directors – Lauren Walker (iLaurenB)

Part 5 of a series of 5 by Flynn Sheridan

Lauren monFlynn:  Tell us how you got involved in Second Life (SL) surfing. What surfing experiences do you have in RL?
Lauren: I got involved in Second Life surfing by visiting beaches and individuals helping me learn. I have been surfing since 9 yrs. old but have mostly stayed surfing in Florida, I hope to visit many other beaches around the world for a more better experience.

Flynn: How long have you been competing in SLSA competitions? Do you participate in other competitions? What is your favorite thing about comps and what do you like least?
Lauren: Season 2, 2012 would be my first full season competing. My favorite thing about comps. is uniting with other surfers(dancing,chatting and competing with each other for fun). There is not really anything I dislike about competitions.

Flynn: What prompted your decision to run for SLSA Director this term?  What qualifications, skills, competencies, traits, etc. do you hope to bring in as a director?
Lauren: I felt the need to put in my dedication as being a SLSA Director, not only to have fun but to help people out and bring in new surfers to this wonderful organization.

Flynn: What do you see as your first priority as an SLSA director? What do you see as the top issues facing SL surfing in general?
Lauren: My first priority as a SLSA director is to promote and increase the membership of the SLSA.  I see a top issue in SL surfing being as people not reaching out deep enough for others.

Flynn: As founder, we envisioned that SLSA would be more than putting on competitions. Do you think SLSA today has a greater role to play in the SL surfing community and why?
Lauren:  In a way yes but not that much. I will try my best along with other directors to make this organization a more better role and successful as it can be.

That’s it for the tough questions.  (Laughs)

Flynn: What board is your current favorite?
Lauren: My favorite board currently is the Hp5, it feels smooth and also surfs good!

Flynn: What wave is your current favorite?
Lauren: My favorite wave currently is “Mavericks”. It gives me alot of room to do tricks and also is a fun wave to party on 😛

Flynn: What are some of your favorite SL surfing spots (a location is much more than a wave)?
Lauren: Solace Beach & Solelua Beach is nice to surf at because its peaceful and also I am able to meet and get to know a bit more new people & surfers.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Profiles

2 responses to “Meet the SLSA Directors – Lauren Walker (iLaurenB)

What do you think?