SLSA Meet Your Candidates

SLSA+logo1as posted in the SL Surfing Association (SLSA) forums:

An election for 2 SLSA Director Positions will be held on August 31st, using a voting machine on Solace Dreams just outside the SLSA Clubhouse.
If you are an eligible voter, (you have competed in one of the last 6 events or volunteered in one of the last 3 events or are a hall of fame inductee), you will received a notice when voting is open.

We sincerely wish to think each of the following candidates, that graciously and selflessly have chosen to stand for election on August 31st. Even before the election we should thank these candidates for their community spirit and willingness to serve.

************************************************************

Bobbi LaSalle

I Bobbi Laval am willing to stand as a Director in the August 31st 2013 elections. I am able to stand for the whole term baring any unexpected fire assignments. But fire season will be coming to an end soon so if it affects my term at all, it would only be in the beginning.

My affiliations include Reef Riders surf team, however Reef Riders is pretty much inactive at the time and realistically isn’t in contention for anything. I have a small line of surf jewelry and am a SLSA sponsor but it is a very small business, and I do not think that gives me any special standing, nor should it. I would willingly support SLSA even if I didn’t have a business. I do not presently own any surf sims, but I do have admin rights to Chi and Tai and am partnered with the estate owner.

Briefly my relevant background has been as a SL surfer and SLSA competitor. I have been involved with SLSA since the very first comp in 2007. I have previously served two full terms as Director in 2010 and again in 2012. I was a active staff member at West of Ireland and was responsible for teaching surf lessons and managing the surf sims there. I also served as an event host and as part of security staff. I was once partner of a music venue and organized and hosted music events with live musicians. I have been a builder and have some artistic skills as well as basic photoshop skills.

My vision for SLSA is very basic. I have no desire to make any drastic changes in SLSA. My overriding principle for SLSA has always been one of fairness. Issues and changes I have pushed and proposed in the past have been in the interest of fairness more than anything else. I feel SLSA is an amazing organization for and by it’s members. It has withstood the test of time and continues to exist when so many other organizations in SL have failed over time. Being that nobody owns or controls SLSA I feel is the secret to the organizations success. I feel the role of the Directors is to represent the membership as best we can. All that being said, I have had some worries and concerns. I have been concerned about the recent lack of fundraising for our sim Solace Dreams. I have been concerned that we seem to have lost some of our regular season sponsors. I believe that we could be better prepared to run our events. I believe the current Directors all have the best intentions and are doing their very best. I just believe that a director that already has some experience would be an asset to the organization.

I’m sorry to say that I do not have any kind of ambitious vision for SLSA. I think we can take the best from the past with an eye on the future and continue down the path our organization is on. My only hope is that I might be able to help smooth out some of the bumps along the way.

****************************************************************
Robin Mapp

I, Robin Mapp, do hereby submit my intent for candidacy for the Board of Directors of the SLSA. Current Captain and founder of Da Huui, Ex- SLSA Director and advisor, owner of RJ Surf. My intent is to fullfill the term and requirements expected of being elected.

****************************************************************
Johnny Whadd

JohnnyWhadd’s Intent To Run for Directorship Election 8/31/2013

I, JohnnyWhadd, intend on running for directorship within the SLSA. I will running for said directorship as co-captain respresenting DaHui surf team.

I am here to be the best person i can, to help and recruit newcomers and to win as many comps as possible. >.<

I would like to gain a healthy knowledge base which would allow for possibly another term as a director.

Being as new as I am to the SLSA, I am gaining more and more of an understanding of what this great organization is all about and therefore, I will apply my best efforts and ideas to assist in the Growth of the SLSA.

Disclosure:
I have read the SLSA Constitution, and understand the importance of how the SLSA is organized and the importance of why it was created.

Cordially,
JW

1 Comment

Filed under Information, News

One response to “SLSA Meet Your Candidates

  1. Pingback: SLSA Director Elections Today | Surf Side

What do you think?

