Meet the SLSA Directors – Xander Datura

Part 2 of a series of 5 by Flynn Sheridan

XanderFlynn: Tell us how you got involved in Second Life (SL) surfing. What surfing experiences do you have in RL?
Xander:ย I met a dude at a party that was surfin some and going to some of his first comps with the SLSA, he took me to Mick’s board shop n I tried a couple out. I immediately had a custom one made.. and been around ever since ๐Ÿ™‚ Now of course once Mick n Rev adopted me.. that changed everything ๐Ÿ˜› Learned a lot from them, trained for every staff spot and got to know everyone in the community… No gettin rid of me now ๐Ÿ™‚

As for RL, I don’t have a lot of expirience with actual surfin.. Ive been out a few times and been slammed pretty good by some big surf ๐Ÿ˜› but geographicly I haven’t been able to hang out much n learn or practice.. I grew up doin all kinds of stuff tho.. motocross was big, I had my first bike at like 5 I think.. Done a lot of scuba diving, LOVE the water.. wakeboarding, SKATEBOARDING used to b my life!! umm.. been skydivin a few times.. I just naturally gravitate towards this kinda stuff.. rl and sl.. if I had been born in a diff place I imagine I’d been all over a surfboard ๐Ÿ™‚ I ain’t dead yet tho n hoping to move to so cal one of these days ๐Ÿ˜› ( I’m told I WAS conceived there)

Flynn: ย How long have you been competing in SLSA competitions? Do you participate in other competitions? What is your favorite thing about comps and what do you like least?
Xander:ย Ummm I been competing or involved for a couple.. 3 years? off n on, I think… I dunno ๐Ÿ˜›ย  I haven’t participated in other surfin comps really but have done skydiving and drag racing and stuff.. these last couple seasons I’ve been working a LOT of the comps.. which is fun for me, and its a blast to be on late and just randomly run into some surfers at a spot and just ride.. I think I’ve been on a board MORE than when I used to practice for comps, and deff more styles.. it’s cool to hit a spot and try all the board makes on it n stuff.. I WILL be competing 2013 tho ๐Ÿ˜› I’ve learned a ton and time to apply it ๐Ÿ™‚ my fav thing about comps is the people! Awesome watching everyones diff styles and watching them interact.. Especially in the lineup.. being a judge or marshall is great.. u get to see every lineup front row ya know? ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess what I like least, at the moment.. is stuff we can’t control.. hehe, like lag and the costs of maintaining comp surfable sims..

Flynn: What do you think was the most important contribution (or decision) you made during the prior board session for surfers? Sometimes its hard to say individually what you did, if so, then what are you most proud about that the group did for SLSA?
Xander: Ummm.. we’re still workin on some of this.. Group chat has always been a problem so I think we’ve found a fix for that.. some things idk if I can say yet, I’m not sure of proper protocol ๐Ÿ˜›ย  My fav thing though is working with the crew I had for the first part of my term, I’ve learned a lot.. feel I’ve contributed to talks and always had my opinions respected.. its been great!! and what excites me is I think this is just a the beginning for me.. I’m learning the director spot through expirience, have a GREAT community full of support.. so in the very near future, I’m hopeful things will only get better and continue to grow!! Big things being talked over ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m stoked ๐Ÿ™‚

Flynn: How will you improve the experience for SLSA surfers during the coming board session? How will you continue to connect to the various groups and personalities so that you can represent their interests and possible concerns?
Xander:ย ย Well I try to stay in touch n friends with a lot of people! and always listen to what they have to say and if there is somethin I can do with that then I’ll run with it!! I mean its all about the MEMbers.. I hope some improvements that I can help the community with is continue to make things more fun! run more fluid behind the scenes, continue to work comps often and train up more staff to support as well.. Bring in NEW members, new boards, new waves.. and reach OUT into other communities of like minded sports nuts to grow bonds between groups within SL..

Flynn: We know you have worked your butts off, most of the surfers are quite happy with the decisions and directions the board has taken, others are confused by some of the changes. How can the board be more transparent in their decision making process?
Xander: Well.. sometimes its confusing on the inside at first too.. we’ll have ideas flying around on many things, all at once.. and looking for pros and cons on everything.. then RL gets in the way.. its hectic.. If anyone has any questions, I’d hope they know they could start a dialouge in forums, or just talk to one of the directors! I have an open door ๐Ÿ˜› I will try to clear up any questions as to why certain things were decided, or rather I will give MY reasons and try to help.. I do think its important for there to be good communication between the board and the members… but communication is deff a two way street.

Flynn: As founder, we envisioned that SLSA would be more than putting on competitions. Do you think SLSA today has a greater role to play in the SL surfing community?
Xander: Well its a community.. not just competitions.. I think its very important to support each others shops, builds, projects etc.. Even with diff of opinions, diff friends, diff affiliations.. We all are part of a bigger family.. I’m not saying SLSA REGULATES any of that… BUT.. SLSA is an association of its MEMBERS.. And all its members have a lot in common, even if it doesn’t always seem that way ๐Ÿ˜› We can make this anything we want.. skys the limit as long as we all as a community, work together.. celebrate our strengths and similarities, and squash the differences..

That’s it for the tough questions.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

Flynn: What board is your current favorite?
Xander: bllleeehhhh… ummm… well I LOVE my mod ssi board with my crazy clown texture i made :> but lately i REALLLY love my new LSD digi spectrum board too.. its fun.. I like variety.. so picking just one top one is impossible ๐Ÿ˜›

Flynn: What wave is your current favorite?
Xander: These are TOUGHER than the first questions >.< I like a ton of waves too.. off the top of my head the teahupoo, evolution, the new LSD waves r wild..

Flynn: What are some of your favorite SL surfing spots (a location is much more than a wave)?
Xander: Hmm… I’m not gonna list this so I don’t leave someone out ๐Ÿ˜› i like a ton.. been mostly hangin out ridin at peoples own sims lately not so much comp spots ๐Ÿ˜› I feel bad running into people practicing if I’m just out for the ride.. so been doin other spots as of late ๐Ÿ™‚

Flynn: Anything else you would like readers to know about you?
Xander:ย ย Eigh I’m sure they know more than they want to as is ๐Ÿ˜› I’m not shy.. But if theres anything i can help with in my professional type capacity person.. lemme know and ill do my best ๐Ÿ™‚

I want to thank for taking the time to respond and letting us get to know you a little better.

5 Comments

Filed under Profiles

5 responses to “Meet the SLSA Directors – Xander Datura

  1. Curshaw

    Xander’s my favorite board member whose name begins with “X”! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. micklunasea

    Xan’s got salt water in his land locked veins. Come to think of it… we ALL do ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m proud of ya Xan!

  3. Xander

    Thanks guys ๐Ÿ™‚ hehe

What do you think?

