20 Questions: Surfer’s Perspective – QUENCH Spotter

submitted by Zelda Zimberman

1. Name:  QUENCH Spotter

2. Team:  Vibrations Surf Association (V.S.A.)

3. Surfing Since:  Before you were in diapers, lol  Started back in 2007.

4. Favorite Board and why?
The Doors! oh you said board. Let me get my glasses… I have over 38 boards in my inventory from various creators over the years. It would be easier to tell you what I don’t consider a favorite. Overall  the one I ride the most is still my SJA Custom Vibes board.

5. Favorite Wave and why?
The Epic @ Majini Island. It was where it all started and home. 🙂 I believe it’s still one of the tallest and longest waves around.

6. How did you come across surfing on SL and what was your first initial reaction to it?
Looking for a man eating shark @ Bishara Resorts. Seeing a wall of water rushing at me. Later weeks a friend asked me if I wanted to go watch a surf competition. Come to find out that was a VSA Surf Jam competition hosted by VSA on Majini Island.

7. Are you involved in the SLSA (second life surfing association) in any way? (competitions, events, etc.)
I have competed and judged in many SLSA competitions in the past. I’m retired from all competing and events.  Enjoying my own privacy at home.

8. What are your thoughts or opinions on the direction on the SLSA from 2012 and beyond?
SLSA was a great way to pull together all the new and pro surfers, form individual teams, and bring them for an awesome gathering and expedition of talents! I hope the same for the future.

9. What do/did you find positive and negative about it?
The Positive: It added a neutral ground for surfers and surf teams to compete. The negative was losing, lol.

How would you like to see it improve more?
During my seasons of riding I’ve seen many changes: Effecting lag, rules, sportsmanship, conduct, ect.  As for an improvement I’d say I would like to see more surf islands and surf events with a PG rating to allow younger people into the surf community.  BTW Ms. Zelda, this is an extra question you asked heheh.

10. Do you compete in any surfing competitions SLSA or non?
Noooo, Papa is retired.

11. What do/did you find gratifying and dissatisfying about  competitions?
Gratifying would have to be the rush of excitement one gets when riding that first perfect wave and knowing your points aren’t going to suck. Dissatisfying is the drama  and politics that can get involved to ruin the fun of it for many people.

12. How do you feel about the SLSA using non SSI boards for competions? (ex; HP5, LSD, Action)
LSD is a board company?  Damn I am old.  I was born on SSI boards. I’ve used  and competed with other boards in other competitions which I was fine with. When I rode in SLSA events we used SSI. My feelings are this. If a venue is going to allow a multitude scripts, (different boards) then the event should be placed on just that type of board. So say SLSA or another host has 10 comps at 10 sims for a season and comp number 4 is allowing other boards such as LSD for example. Then comp number 4 should be broken up into sub events where each scripted board has its own comp and a rider can only choose 1 comp to ride and place in that event for points to be counted for comp number 4. Some people in the past I’ve seen get butt hurt over this. Get over it and put a band-aid on your rash. It’s simple really.

“Indy Cars” and “NASCARS”  are both awesome car races. Why in the hell  would you  make a competition  where both cars are racing on the same track at the same time? Sure have an event like that. After all this is Second life, But if that is allowed and not under the terms i stated above then it’s obvious to me a “show of creators scripts” and not in the favor of the rider and not in the best interest of the new rider trying to make a break threw.. unless you title it a “Carnival Free For All.” So to sum up my answer, keep the engines alike for the competition you are hosting. Multiply  the competition by events for each class of scripts.

13. If you are currently inactively involved in competitons (surfing, judging, etc.) what was the reason for leaving? Would you want to come back and participate?
I wouldn’t call it “currently inactively involved” I choose to call it retired. I had so much fun and so many awesome memories from surfing, competing, judging ect. My real life work schedule was a major contributor. Some personal drama I don’t wish to disclose and personal conflicts. Now I enjoy time to my wife tranquilitie and my rl son here in sl in my free time. I still freestyle surf time to time but do not wish to compete any longer.

14. What are your thoughts on the team dynamics?
Ahh the memories! A team should all get along and respect each brother and sisters personal lives outside the surf community as well as in the surf community, and never crossing each others lines. We had fun back in the day competing against other teams on the surf but when it came time to beach, the boards there was a feeling of unity with all the teams, and we respected each others beliefs and principles.

Is there a team you particularly like? Why?
Sure Vibes!! lol Guess there are so many teams out there I remember having the unlimited respect for.  Some awesome people!

15. Is there anyone on here that particularly had an impact when it came to surfing, mentoring, and overall being a role model for you? Who and why?
Robin Choche. Robin took me under her wing and spent many hours training and coaching as my personal coach before her departure from sl. She was my gateway to where I am and whom I am today. 🙂

16. What was your favorite moment or memory on surfing here?
My first win at Neart SLSA Pro may 2008. There were many more memories I hold sacred. 🙂

17. Is there anyone you know or knew that isn’t active as much in surfing and would like to see come back? Who and why?
Yes my fallen brothers and sisters that passed away. Names not mentioned.

18. Many people have strong opinions when it comes to SL surfing and RL surfing. What is your take on the comparison?
Since I was stung by a stingray in rl I pretty much limit my time out on a board in rl.  One thing people need to understand is that some people in sl are or have some form of disability where they will never get the opportunity to get on a real life surfboard. Why over dramatize things buy saying “Oh this board is more like rl then this”. It should be about the experience you feel at that exact moment. Not because some idiot says you have to use this one because this is more like real life surfing. If someone wants to brag about their real life surfing then just hit the red X and enjoy!

19. Do you have any advice for new SL surfers on here?
Have fun! Explore your sl the way it was meant to be explored. When on a board, live for the moment for yourself, buy a good rash guard, and “Shut Up And Ride!”.

20. Any other thoughts?
Yeah, how much did you say I’m getting paid for this?

Leave a comment

Filed under Profiles

What do you think?

