Letter from the Editor

Aloha and Welcome! I am happy to have you here. Today is a day of mixed blessings. The official launch of Surf Side and the final day for SurfWatch.

It was with great sadness that I learned that SurfWatch would not be continuing to post. Before I joined the staff as the SLSA corespondent, I read SurfWatch everyday.  I eagerly awaited each new post just to see what it could be. Sometimes I got optimistic and would check back 2 or 3 or 6 times a day, just to make sure there wasn’t something new. I always knew I could trust that SurfWatch would have the latest news posted right away.

The staff was given a heads up before today. Thank you Tauri for being so professional and kind to all of us. And thank you for always encouraging me. Your enthusiasm made working for SurfWatch truly enjoyable. With this announcement, I was… oh I don’t have the right word… but where would I get my In on the surfing world, what would I read, oh my god, where would I post? The brief time that I was with SurfWatch, I got addicted to getting SLSA news out and getting it out ASAP!

The answer was obvious, as Flynn (Sheridan) pointed out to me… Start your own blog!  So I did. And here it is.

I hope to cover all the latest events in this surfing community we all have created. I may need your help, so I don’t miss anything. I hope to try to get creative and add some fun pieces on sims and waves and boards and other surfy/beachy stuff.  My main goal is to provide information for the surfing community about things surfing related. Flynn is my partner in this and co-editor. Look for some opinion pieces from him on occasion. And videos!

We can never replace SurfWatch. But I hope maybe we can help fill in the hole, at least a little, they left behind.

It is easiest for me to cover SLSA news, but there is no way I can magically know everything that is going on.  Non-SLSA competitions, new sims, new waves, new designers… you get the idea. So if you hear of anything, please let me know.

You can contact me anytime. Send me an IM in-world. My IMs go to email, so I get them right away. You can also email me directly at cierra_theriac@yahoo.com.

I want this blog to be here for you. (Please let someone read this!) I hope we can enjoy this adventure together! So bookmark us, and keep checking in.

Maholo,
Cierra

6 Comments

Filed under From the Editors

6 responses to “Letter from the Editor

  1. lissa pinion

    So glad to see you guys doing this Cierra!

  2. True, it’s a sad day to start, Cie, but I’m glad to see you doing it. If I can ever be any help, give me a holler. Just don’t give me any deadlines… ask Tauri, Lissa, and Ash.. hahahaha

  3. Thank you so much! And I will take all the help I can get 🙂

  4. Jen

    woohoo 🙂 really cool… I loved Surfwatch and such a shame it is gone…
    So glad there is a new newsblog… if I can do something just let me know… *

    at your service

What do you think?

